Listen to 405 Radio
Duke Raoul - Young Starlings [EP]

Duke Raoul - Young Starlings [EP]

by , 13 July 2011

“Holy Jesus. What are these goddamn animals?”

Well, they are Duke Raoul, presumably named after the Hunter S. Thompson drug munching character in Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas and other works. Part of Brighton's Prime Cut Music and Anti Ghost Moon Ray families, the four-piece band have a neat cover of the late Gerry Rafferty's solo hit Baker Street plus Esben and the Witch and Erland and the Carnival support credits to their name and now, a shiny new EP.

The four tracks which make up the fifteen minute long Young Starlings recording have just enough in them to demonstrate a lurking talent, with solid structure to each number and the lilting haunt of singer Alex Painter's singing throughout, akin to something of a Chris Martin and Kele Okereke hybrid.

The flow of tumbling tom rolls and muted guitar runs in opener 'Cloak and Dagger' set the tone nicely for the EP, a gentle fall through sweet harmonies, offset at the all right points by Painter's occasionally (pleasant) piercing style.

In contrast, the blunt start to the song 'Young Starlings' is faster, darker and more fleet of foot. A handful of well-worked key changes throughout the verses and fuzzier, twisting blasts of rhythm guitar underpinned by a consistent bass – perhaps the point where the band's Sonic Youth and Bowie influences can be heard – all result in a tight and melodic track.

'Break Up Your Routine' is a little more of the same; steady, dependable and well meted background vocals, a hypnotic backbeat of differing textures and levels and a straightforward formula, whereas final track 'Made of Magic' is altogether cockier and upfront - amps are set in Fuzz Lightyear mode, crash cymbals meet their maker and Painter is a little more unpredictable and raw, making for one hell of a dirty, grubby and pretty satisfying finale.

The Young Starlings EP is, in a few parts and maybe intentionally, a little fuzzy production wise meaning some of the vocals and arrangements disappear under rolls of bass and mid-range fat. Overall though Duke Raoul should be proud owners of a decent recording and certainly a unique sound. As Raoul Duke may have put it, “Too weird to live, and too rare to die”.


Related Reviews

  • XBXRX – O

    XBXRX – O

    by Jamie Morris

    Label: Polyvinyl Release date: 28/09/2010 Link: Official Site Buy/Stream: Amazon/Spotify The latest release by the Californian-based punk band XBXRX is nothing if not a mystery. O is a puzzling creation, with the whole album being just under nine minutes long, and the longest track ending after only one minute and twenty-two seconds. Upon listening to some of XBXRX’s discography, you get the impression of an angry but talented new-wave punk band. Indeed, 2007 release Wars is a fantast... [read more]

  • Duke Raoul - Strange/Dead Echoes

    Duke Raoul - Strange/Dead Echoes

    by Ryan Barham

    Label: Prime Cut Release date: 22/03/10 Website: Myspace Named after Hunter S. Thompson’s infamous anti-hero and hailing from Brighton Duke Raoul release their debut single – a double a-side of ‘Strange’ and ‘Dead Echoes’, out on vinyl and download. Already favourites of The 405, the first thing we should mention is the awesome artwork on the release (check it out there above) courtesy of Sarai Vardi. Having amassed an impressive slew of supports to the likes of The Future... [read more]

  • Fleet Foxes - He Doesn't Know Why

    Fleet Foxes - He Doesn't Know Why

    by The 405

    Label: Sub Pop Release date: 20/10/08 Link: ‘He Doesn’t Know Why’ epitomizes what I love about Fleet Foxes. From the multi-part Beach Boys-esque harmonies that open the song to the reflective piano chords that signal its end, everything about the song seems both familiar and fresh. It’s like a summer of love take on alt-country; folksy acoustic guitars and tambourines build up into the bass and drums, spilling over into a faux chorus which sees ... [read more]

  • J.Tillman - Year In The Kingdom

    J.Tillman - Year In The Kingdom

    by Jack Phillips

    Label: Bella Union Release date: 14/09/09 Website: Buy: Ama J. Tillman (the J's for Joshua if you're wondering) had been busy pre-Fleet Foxes with some fairly low-key releases, and by some I mean a whole seven. His eighth is Year In The Kingdom and his first since joining Fleet Foxes to drum and generally harmonise. Year In The Kingdom is vividly wintery, conjuring up visions of snowy landscapes dotted with cabins through it's sparse textures. Beards a... [read more]


Follow Us

Recommended Posts

Popular Posts

Mailing List

Sign up to our weekly mailing list.