Listen to 405 Radio
Stream Software/Mexican Summer's compilation album

Stream Software/Mexican Summer's compilation album

by Tom Walters, 06 April 2012

Software, the Mexican Summer imprint run by Joel Ford of Airbird and Daniel Lopatin of Oneohtrix Point Never, have announced details of a compilation album featuring the finest synth-rock act's across both prints' rosters.

Titled Slash-Rituals, highlights come from the slices Airbird and Oneohtrix Point Never contribute themselves, but there's a lot more to love here too. The Software side focuses on the downtempo, soft-synth electronica you've come to expect from the likes of Ford and Lopatin - Light Asylum's dark and anthemic 'Shallow Tears' deserves a honourable mention, as does the sparkling Adrian Sherwood / On-U Sound Remix of Peaking Lights' cut 'Tiger Eyes (Laid Back)'. Mexican Summer dabble in their signature far-out, kooky folk-rock/psychedelica hybrids; with achingly beautiful tracks from the likes of The Alps, Mike Wexler and Carlos Giffoni. Slava, Quilt, Zig Zags and Megafortress are also notable names who make an appearance.

The entire 15-track compilation is available to stream below.

Related Posts

  • Software Recording Company prep new releases

    Software Recording Company prep new releases

    by Tom Walters

    A whole bunch of new music from Oneohtrix Point Never's record label. [read more]

  • Mix/Cover/Live #319 (feat Erase Errata & more)

    Mix/Cover/Live #319 (feat Erase Errata & more)

    by The 405

    Today's Mix/Cover/Live includes Oneohtrix Point Never, Richard Cheese, The Soft Moon & Erase Errata. MP3: Oneohtrix Point Never - Returnal (feat. Antony Hegarty) (Blixaboy Futura Freemix)E MP3: Richard Cheese - Been Caught Stealing (Jane’s Addiction) MP3: The Soft Moon - Breathe The Fire (Live) MP3: Erase Errata - Damaged [read more]

  • Oneohtrix Point Never announces new album

    Oneohtrix Point Never announces new album

    by The 405

    Oneohtrix Point Never (Daniel Lopatin) has announced that his first proper studio project will be called Replica, and will drop via Mexican Summer on November 7th. [read more]

  • The 405 Spotify Playlist #40

    The 405 Spotify Playlist #40

    by The 405

    Sorry about all the errors/downtime this week. With the site turning 3 next week, it's getting anxious and very body conscious. Soon things will be better and the site will be a happy bunny again. In the meantime, check out our latest playlist, which features tracks chosen by The 405 staff. Click the image below to check out our Spotify playlist. Review/Feature Links Hauschka - Album Stream - (link) Little Scream - Interview - (link) Phantom Vibration - Intervi... (continued) [read more]


Follow Us

Recommended Posts

Popular Posts

Mailing List

Sign up to our weekly mailing list.

Around The Web