Cannes 2018 was an eventful festival on the fiftieth anniversary of the also eventful 1968 Cannes. Issues were had with Netflix early on (and Netflix ended up buying Happy as Lazzaro and Girl for North American distribution), A24 acquired Gaspar Noé's hellishly cerebral Climax (described as “a sadistic Step Up”), Lars von Trier returned (and drove many from the theater from his gratuitously violent portrait of a serial killer, The House that Jack Built), Asia Argento called the festival Harvey Weinstein’s hunting ground, steps were taken toward fighting sexual misconduct and assault and at least acknowledging a need to improve gender equality and Spike Lee's BlacKkKlansman electrified audiences.

Now that the festival is over, the award winners have been announced.


Palme d'Or Hirokazu Kore-eda, Shoplifters

Grand PrixSpike Lee, BlacKkKlansman

Director: Pawel Pawlikowski, Cold War

Actor: Marcello Fonte, Dogman

Actress: Samal Yeslyamova, Ayka

Jury Prize: Nadine Labaki, Capernaum

Screenplay — TIE: Alice Rohrwacher, Happy as Lazzaro & Jafar Panahi, Nader Saeivar, Three Faces

Special Palme d’Or: Jean-Luc Godard


Camera d’Or: Lukas Dhont, Girl

Short Films Palme d’Or:  Charles Williams, All These Creatures

Short Films Special Mention:  Shujun Wei, On the Border

Golden Eye Documentary Prize: Samouni Road

Ecumenical Jury Prize: Nadine Labaki, Capernaum

Ecumenical Jury Special Mention: Spike Lee, BlacKkKlansman

Queer Palm: Lukas Dhont, Girl


Un Certain Regard Award: Ali Abbasi, Border

Best Director: Sergei Loznitsa, Donbass

Best Performance: Victor Polster, Girl

Best Screenplay: Meryem Benm’Barek, Sofia

Special Jury Prize: João Salaviza & Renée Nader MessoraThe Dead and the Others


Art Cinema Award: Gaspar Noé, Climax

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize:  Pierre Salvadori, The Trouble With You

Europa Cinemas Label: Gianni Zanasi, Lucia’s Grace

Illy Short Film Award: Patrick Bresnan, Ivete Lucas, Skip Day


Grand Prize: Gabriel Abrantes, Daniel Schmidt, Diamantino

Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: Benedikt Erlingsson, Woman at War

GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: Sir

Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Félix Maritaud, Sauvage

Short Film:  Jacqueline Lentzou, Hector Malot – The Last Day Of The Year


Competition:  Lee Chang-dong, Burning

Un Certain Regard: Lukas Dhont, Girl

Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week:  Zsófa Szilagyi, One Day


First Prize:  Diego Céspedes, The Summer of the Electric Lion

Second Prize — TIE:  Igor Poplauhin, Calendar & Shen Di, The Storms in our Blood

Third Prize: Lucia Bulgheroni, Inanimate