The Association of Independent Music last night held the third annual AIM Independent Music Awards at The Brewery Hotel in London. The governing body for independent record companies started the event to celebrate a highly important section of the music industry. CEO Alison Wenham said, "This year's AIM Awards winners reflect the towering strength of the indies in A&R. The high quality and diversity of all the winners in a very strong year for the sector points to a bright future for the UK music industry. Historically, the UK's indie sector has punched above its weight in the international marketplace and we are confident the winners will enjoy success across the world in the years to come."

Performing live were Franz Ferdinand who, ten years ago this week, released their debut single 'Darts of Pleasure' on Domino Records, proof enough that the indies can be just as successful as the bigger companies. Also performing was Billy Bragg, who picked up the Outstanding Contribution to Music Award, presented by none other than Michael Eavis, Glastonbury organiser who has booked Bragg for the festival more times than we can count anymore.

More winners included Daughter, who picked up Independent Album of the Year with their 4AD released If You Leave. Warp Records picked up Independent Label of the Year after releasing records from the likes of Grizzly Bear and Flying Lotus in the past year or so while Geoff Travis of Rough Trade Records picked up the Pioneer Award. Macklemore & Ryan Lewis, the self released duo behind 'Thrift Shop', picked up Independent Breakthrough of the Year and PPL Award for the Most Played New Independent Act, the only artists to collect more than one award.

Even one of the hosts managed to bag himself an award. The Special Contribution award was giving to radio presenter Steve Lamacq who, with Huw Stephens, was presenting the night's ceremonies. Lamacq has been in the radio business for 20 years, starting out at Radio 1 and moving to his regular slot on 6Music while also cropping up all over the BBC's radio channels.

A full list of the night's winners can be seen below:

  • Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to Enter Shikari 
  • Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7digital): Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  • Hardest Working Band Or Artist: Frankie & The Heartstrings 
  • Best 'Difficult' Second Album (in association with XFM): The xx - 'Co-exist' 
  • Independent Album Of The Year (in association with Record Store Day): Daughter - 'If You Leave'
  • Best Small Label (in association with Disc Manufacturing Services): Alcopop! Records
  • PPL Award For Most Played New Independent Act: Macklemore & Ryan Lewis
  • Special Catalogue Release Of The Year (in association with Amazon): Various Artists - Scared To Get Happy : A Story of Indie Pop 1980 - 89
  • Independent Label Of The Year (in association with Coutts):  Warp 
  • Independent Track Of The Year (in association with Spotify) : Vampire Weekend - 'Diane Young'
  • Independent Video Of The Year (in association with Vevo): Django Django - 'WOR'
  • Indie Champion Award (in association with Consolidated Independent):  Gilles Peterson - BBC 6music 
  • Golden Welly Award (in association with UK Music, AIF + This Is Fake DIY): In The Woods
  • Special Recognition Award:  Steve Lamacq - BBC 6music
  • Outstanding Contribution to Music (in association with eMusic): Billy Bragg 
  • Pioneer Award (in association with Nokia Music): Geoff Travis, Rough Trade

See Also: Our Favourite Photos From August 2013