American Football have announced their third album: unsurprisingly it's called American Football (you can tack on LP3 to the end to differentiate it from its forebears). The band's third album is coming out on March 22nd via Big Scary Monsters. What was once a cult band with a one-off album then became a reunion band, but has now become a fully established and firing-on-all-cylinders project. With this new certainty about their existence, they've managed to pull in the likes of Hayley Williams (Paramore), Rachel Goswell (Slowdive) and Elizabeth Powell (Land of Talk) to contribute vocals to LP3.

Talking about the creation of the new album, Mike Kinsella says "We put a lot of time and a lot of energy into it... We were all thoughtful about what we wanted to put out there. Last time, it was figuring out how to use all of our different arms. This time, we were like – Okay, we have these arms, let’s use them."

This expansive confidence can be heard on lead single and LP3's opening track, 'Silhouettes', which begins with a festive twinkling of bells, but gracefully ascends into a glorious edition of modern day emo. Not only does the recording seem more pristine and confident than ever heard from American Football, but instrumentally 'Silhouettes' is more complex and satisfying. The tried and true autumnal guitar still holds the core of the song, but it sounds more resplendent than ever, especially as around it are artful violins, an imperious bass line and expansive vocal effects. This renders Kinsella's nostalgic lyricism more profoundly than ever before, and all of it comes together to make 'Silhouettes' an instant classic American Football song.

American Football's American Football (LP3) comes out on March 22nd through Big Scary Monsters. Here's the tracklist:

1. Silhouettes
2. Every Wave To Ever Rise (ft. Elizabeth Powell)
3. Uncomfortably Numb (ft. Hayley Williams)
4. Heir Apparent
5. Doom in Full Bloom
6. I Can't Feel You (ft. Rachel Goswell)
7. Mine To Miss
8. Life Support