In the last half-decade Angel Olsen has risen stupendously from outsider folk-singer into mainstream indie heartthrob through her utterly compelling and devastating folk-rock. Although three flawless albums in five years is by no means a bad output, such is the quality of her music that fans are always baying for more material from her, so it comes as no small treat that Olsen has announced that she will release Phases; a compilation of b-sides and rarities that reaches all the way back to 2010's Strange Cacti EP right up to outtakes from 2016's excellent My Woman.

Some who have delved deep into Olsen's output before now may well recognise some of the songs on the track list for Phases, but even for them there are brand new tracks coming. 'Special', which you can hear below, is a previously unheard outtake from My Woman; its 7-minutes of sultry desert rock harking back to that album's sky-searching epics. Other tracks on the record include 'How Many Disasters' and 'Sans', both home-recorded demos that have never been released. The compilation will kick off with 'Fly On Your Wall', which was released earlier this year as part on Bandcamp as part of the Our First 100 Days fundraiser protesting the incoming Trump regime.

Phases is set to come out through Jagjaguwar on November 10th. Listen to 'Special' and 'Fly On Your Wall' below, with the full track list beneath.

Phases track list:

01. Fly On Your Wall
02. Special
03. Only You
04. All Right Now
05. Sans
06. Sweet Dreams
07. California
08. Tougher Than the Rest
09. For You
10. How Many Dreams
11. May as Well
12. Endless Road