The shortlist for this year's 2014 Polaris Music Prize has been revealed.

The award, which honours the best Canadian album of the year, is given during the Polaris Gala on September 22nd. Leading this year's short list are Arcade Fire's Reflektor, Mac DeMarco's Salad Days, Drake's Nothing Was The Same, Chromeo's White Women, and Timber Timbre's Hot Dreams. Completing the list are Owen Pallett's In Conflict, Tim Hecker's Virgins, Yamantaka // Sonic Titan's UZU, Tanya Tagaq's Animism, Shad's Flying Colours, Jessy Lanza's Pull My Hair Back, and Basia Bulat's Tall Tall Shadow.

This year's winner will succeed to Godspeed You! Black Emperor's Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend! and receive an award of $30,000.