Just look at that cover – reminds me of Dali's 1932 painting Average French Bread with Two Eggs on the Plate without the Plate, on Horseback, Attempting to Sodomize a Crumb of Portugese Bread. It's good, isn't it? And it's nice to see that after the ice cream-themed Gloss Drop all the way back in 2011, Battles are continuing their foodular theme with imminent new album La Di Da Di. It's scheduled for release on 25th September via Warp – artwork above, obviously; tracklist below.

It'll be the now-trio's second album without former frontman and experimental musicmaker in his own right, Tyondai Braxton. Now, let's be reminded of the first single from Gloss Drop, the stuttering upbeat bounce of Matias Aguayo-featuring 'Ice Cream'.

  • La Di Da Di tracklist:
  • 01 The Yabba
  • 02 Dot Net
  • 03 FF Bada
  • 04 Summer Simmer
  • 05 Cacio e Pepe
  • 06 Non-Violence
  • 07 Dot Com
  • 08 Tyne Wear
  • 09 Tricentennial
  • 10 Megatouch
  • 11 Flora > Fauna
  • 12 Luu Le