Hello and welcome to a brand new season of Bonjour Motherfuckers, your favourite column featuring some of the best new music made in France. For the first edition of 2019 we bring you a mix of December releases that might have slipped under your radar due to the amount of EOTY lists taking over music websites and blogs (but nevertheless require your uttermost attention), plus a couple of album previews to get you properly excited for what the new year has in store over at Ooh-La-La-Land.

Since good things are supposed to make comebacks whenever possible, this edition of Bonjour Motherfuckers also features an illustration from the one, the only, the magnifique Pedro Ponte (whose first contribution to the column you can check out here) — head over to his Tumblr and Instagram to see more of his work.


Entracte Twist announce debut album

The new year is set to bring us many wonderful things and proof of that is Entracte Twist's debut LP which is due out on January 18th via Requiem Pour Un Twister. The album features previously-released 'Christine Young' and '38 Special' and is an exciting treat for fans of the Paris-based band's retro-sounding new wave pop-punk. Debut single 'Hors Service' can be streamed above; head over to the label's bandcamp for the vinyl pre-order — if you're lucky you'll still be able to catch one of the special yellow/black-marbled copies (limited to 100).

Bryan's Magic Tears unveil video for 'Ghetto Blaster'

Among the many albums released post-EOTY lists (and consequently not getting the love they duly deserve) is Bryan's Magic Tears' sophomore LP: 4AM sees the band signing to legendary Born Bad Records to deliver a collection of fuzzy nine tracks that drink directly from that late 90s psych-grunge sous-genre we sometimes forget we love. 'Ghetto Blaster' is the LP's opener, and the DIY visuals you can check out above were directed by Paul Ramon. The album is available in full via the band's bandcamp.

EggS release self-titled debut EP

Another premiere that made 2018 end on a high note was the debut release of Parisian quartet EggS, a super group of sorts made of members from Joujou Jaguar and Bootchy Temple. The indie-flavoured four tracks taste like Television and other proto-punk delicacies, with the jangly guitars nevertheless preventing the ensemble from becoming too dark. The EP is out now via Hellzapoppin’ and Howlin Banana Records, and you can stream it in full above; check out the clip for opener 'I fell in love with a girl she didn't even know I exist then I formed my own band' (yes, that's the title) here.

T/O shares video for 'Sshhee'

Another Bonjour Motherfuckers' 2018 favourite was Théo Cloux a.k.a. T/O, a Strasbourg-based musician whose debut album Ominous Signs came out last March via October Tone. Now Cloux brings us the visuals for another track from the LP by the hand of Laura Sifi, who had previously directed the video for 'Gozilla'. The rather simple clip for 'Ssheee' has nevertheless a strange aura that comes mostly from watching a random group of ordinary people engaged in what seems to be a traditional dance. You won't be able to take your eyes off it though; check it out above.

Wild Fox announce new EP, share video for 'Mursees'

According to their Facebook bio, and even if they're still in their twenties, Wild Fox have been playing together for about ten years now. However, the birth of the Angers-based quartet has only been formalised in 2016, so it comes as no surprise we're only learning about them now — the pretext being their brand new single 'Mursees' whose video you can watch above. The garage-y tune sets the tone for a forthcoming EP bearing the promising title of Wanker's Juice which is due out next February.

New year means new Bonjour Motherfuckers playlist, so it's only natural that it still looks pretty empty; be sure to stream/subscribe/show some love below (they grow up so fast!), and in the meantime why not checking out what you might have missed in 2018? Bonjour Motherfuckers Season One remains available in all its glory and amour here.