Brazil's tropicalismo revivalists Boogarins are back with second album Manual. It's a big step forward for Fernando "Dino" Almeida and Benke Ferraz, who began playing music together as teenagers in the central Brazilian city of Goiânia- recording psychedelic pop in their parents' gardens.

Their debut LP As Plantas Que Curam, released in 2013, was a lo-fi exploration of psych with enchanting melodies, making you recall the Brazilian greats Os Mutantes and Gilberto Gil. Singing in Portuguese and appealing to European audiences is no mean feat, but do understanding lyrics really matter in psych? Isn't it a feeling, and a manifestation of the mind?

From teenagers to young men, Boogarins are now set to release Manual, the same dual meaning in both Portuguese and English, "to work with your hands" and "an instruction book". This album teaser video follows them through the making of the record. Manual might well be the instruction book to opening up your clouded consciousness. Watch this space.

Watch the album teaser video here:

Manual is out on October 30th on Other Music. Check out the tracklisting below:

  • 1. Truques
  • 2. Avalanche
  • 3. Tempo
  • 4. 6000 Dias
  • 5. Mario de Andrade - Selvagem
  • 6. Falsa Folha de Rosto
  • 7. Benzin
  • 9. Cuerdo
  • 10. Sei Lá
  • 11. Auchma