Brian Eno will release his first solo record since 2012's Grammy-nominated LUX this coming spring. The Ship, set for delivery on April 29 via Warp Records, was originally conceived from experiments with three dimensional recording techniques. It's described as just as a musical novel with traditional elements, as Eno is said to have brought together "beautiful songs, minimalist ambience, physical electronics omniscient narratives and technical innovation into a single, cinematic suite." It will start with a 21-minute opener on which Eno’s cyclically sung sea-chant builds in ominous drama, and end with a Lou Reed-penned cover of The Velvet Underground's 'I’m Set Free.'

"Humankind seems to teeter between hubris and paranoia: the hubris of our ever-growing power contrasts with the paranoia that we're permanently and increasingly under threat<" Brian says. "At the zenith we realise we have to come down again...we know that we have more than we deserve or can defend, so we become nervous. Somebody, something is going to take it all from us: that is the dread of the wealthy. Paranoia leads to defensiveness, and we all end up in the trenches facing each other across the mud."

  • Tracklist:
  • 01. The Ship
  • 02. Fickle Sun
  • (i) Fickle Sun
  • (ii) The Hour Is Thin
  • (iii) I’m Set Free