Calexico have announced details of a new album set for release this April.

The follow-up to 2012's Algiers is titled Edge of the Sun, and will be released on April 14 via Anti-/City Slang. The album features the likes of Neko Case, Sam Beam (Iron & Wine), Ben Bridwell (Band of Horses), Nick Urata (DeVotchka) and Gaby Moreno.

"The 'edge of the sun' could be coming from the direction of darkness seeking light, or riding the line between both," says Joey Burns in a statement. "Which side of this edge are you on? Traversing along the edge of the sun, that to me feels closest to what this album is and what the band has been, and where we are with this international makeup of musicians. Madrid, Nashville, Tucson, El Paso, Berlin; it's an eclectic mix. All in all, this album is about pushing through the blue to brighter days. Calexico has always had that element of hope, going back and forth between a positive outlook and embracing desperate or dark themes that I think we all share."

Check out the tracklist, and stream of 'Cumbia de Donde', below.

Check out the tracklisting below:

  • 01. Falling from the Sky
  • 02. Bullets & Rocks
  • 03. When the Angels Played
  • 04. Tapping on the Line
  • 05. Cumbia de Donde
  • 06. Miles from the Sea
  • 07. Coyoacán
  • 08. Beneath the City of Dreams
  • 09. Woodshed Waltz
  • 10. Moon Never Rises
  • 11. World Undone
  • 12. Follow the River

See Also: TITLE
See Also: TITLE