Death Grips' dyadic final album the powers that b finally has a release date. Without stalling or waffling for too long, we can tell you it's out 17th March (the first day of SXSW, incidentally) via Harvest Records.

As you may or may not know already, this swan song has to be special, so it comprises of two albums: niggas on the moon and Jenny Death. Both arrive under one title, the powers that b. It arrives after a surprise instrumental LP released at the beginning of 2015 called Fashion Week.

Someone on Reddit or a YouTube comment maybe, I don't remember, theorised that Jenny Death refers to Marilyn Monroe's real name, Norma Jeane Mortenson, equating "Jeane" with Jenny and "Mortenson" – via morte – with Death. The artwork for it does feature some sort of sculpted image of Monroe, so. I like that these guys have such a… mythology surrounding them.

Death Grips officially broke up at the end of 2014. But there's still this next album to sink your teeth into. And in the meantime, let's remind ourselves of track-and-video combo 'Intimate Sensation', which dropped in December last year.

Tracklist for the forthcoming album is below.

• Also, read Luke Allen's eulogy for Death Grips – it's extensive and entertaining.

  • the powers that b tracklist:
  • Disc 1: niggas on the moon
  • 01 Up My Sleeves
  • 02 Billy Not Really
  • 03 Black Quarterback
  • 04 Say Hey Kid
  • 05 Have a Sad Cum BB
  • 06 Fuck Me Out
  • 07 Voila
  • 08 Big Dipper

  • Disc 2: jenny death
  • 01 I Break Mirrors With My Face in the United States
  • 02 Inanimate Sensation
  • 03 Turned Off
  • 04 Why a Bitch Gotta Lie
  • 05 PSS PSS
  • 06 The Powers That B
  • 07 Beyond Alive
  • 08 Centuries of Damn
  • 09 On GP
  • 10 Death Grip 2.0