Angel Deradoorian, whom you might know as the former bassist in Dirty Projectors, and a member of Avey Tare's Slasher Flicks, has announced that she'll be releasing a debut album under her surname – Deradoorian – fantastically called The Expanding Flower Planet. She's released music under this moniker before, however, namely the 2009 Mind Raft EP.

You can also listen below to the first track to be taken from the album, 'A Beautiful Woman'. It's a jumbly, shuddering morsel that's full of a truncated sense of brooding funk with delicious hypnotic beats and chanting, layered vocals.

The Expanding Flower Planet is out 21st August on Anticon (and 24th in Japan on Tugboat Records).

  • The Expanding Flower Planet tracklist:
  • 01 A Beautiful Woman
  • 02 Expanding Flower Planet
  • 03 Violet Minded
  • 04 Komodo
  • 05 Your Creator
  • 06 The Invisible Man
  • 07 DarkLord
  • 08 Ouneya
  • 09 The Eye
  • 10 Grow