Today Dan Bejar has announced that his 12th album as Destroyer will be called ken and will be coming out on 20th October through Dead Oceans/Merge. It follows up his gloriously winsome 2015 album Poison Season.

Bejar gives a muddled and intriguing explanation for the title and inspiration for the album: "Sometime last year, I discovered that the original name for “The Wild Ones” (one of the great English-language ballads of the last 100 years or so) was “Ken.” I had an epiphany, I was physically struck by this information. In an attempt to hold on to this feeling, I decided to lift the original title of that song and use it for my own purposes. It’s unclear to me what that purpose is, or what the connection is. I was not thinking about Suede when making this record. I was thinking about the last few years of the Thatcher era. Those were the years when music first really came at me like a sickness, I had it bad. Maybe “The Wild Ones” speaks to that feeling, probably why Suede made no sense in America. I think “ken” also means “to know.”"

Destroyer's 11th album Poison Season marked yet another change in style in his long career, towards a more baroque pop style. Judging from the quirky lead single 'Sky's Grey', ken will continue in the same vein as that album. Listen to 'Sky's Grey' below and check the track list for ken beneath.

ken track list:
01 Sky’s Grey
02 In the Morning
03 Tinseltown Swimming in Blood
04 Cover From the Sun
05 Saw You at the Hospital
06 A Light Travels Down the Catwalk
07 Rome
08 Sometimes In the World
09 Ivory Coast
10 Stay Lost
11 La Regle du Jeu