Kevin Rowland has announced that a new Dexys album will be released this June, their first in over 26-years.

The album is called One Day I'm Going To Soar, and will be released on June 4th. But wat happened to the Midnight Runners? Did they get tired?

"I don’t know why, but it seems like the stars were aligned. Everything seemed to work, whereas previously, it hadn’t. It seemed there were so many people willing this to happen and keen to put in as much time and effort as was needed to make it live up to its potential - not least Mick Talbot (keyboards and co producer) and Pete Schwier (engineer and co producer) - massive contributions both. I couldn’t have done it without either of them, or the efforts of the other musicians. This is a Dexys record, not a Kevin Rowland record. It’s now called Dexys, NOT Dexys Midnight Runners because it’s the same, but it’s also not the same".

The full tracklist can be seen below, as well as their forthcoming live dates and a stream of the first two minutes of the album.


  • 1. Now
  • 2. Lost
  • 3. Me
  • 4. She Got A Wiggle
  • 5. You
  • 6. Thinking Of You
  • 7. I’m Always Going To Love You
  • 8. Incapable Of Love
  • 9. Nowhere Is Home
  • 10. Free
  • 11. It’s OK John Joe

May Live Dates

  • 6 Glasgow Cottiers Theatre
  • 8 London Shepherds Bush Empire