Dilated Peoples, the legendary underground three-piece rap group from Los Angeles, have officially announced the first album since 2006's 20/20, with Directors Of Photography.

DJ Babu, Evidence, and Rakaa Iriscience, after years of solo efforts and off-hand projects, will be releasing the collective's sixth studio LP and first on Rhymesayers Entertainment. The move, a fairly slow progression, came after releasing four studio albums from 2000-06 on Capitol.

In the official press release, Evidence details that the album is about how the group views, "the world and each other."

"In film," he goes on, "the Director of Photography is the one who's selecting the shots, framing it. The same thing with us. We might not be making the beat, but we’re selecting tracks that we want to use, doing the mix, talking with the producer. We’re very much the selectors of everything we do."

DJ Babu added, "I think the statement we made this time around is that the three of us are still here standing making quality Hip Hop from our hearts. We never chased trends and we always stayed true to ourselves. Even with the changes in the music industry and the world, we still managed to stay cutting edge, classic and, in many ways, independent."

Director Of Photography will be officially released August 12th, with pre-orders available at iTunes. Check out the video for the album's lead single 'Good As Gone' as well as the official tracklist below.

  • Director Of Photography
  • 01. Intro
  • 02. Directors
  • 03. Cut My Teeth
  • 04. Defari Interlude
  • 05. The Dark Room feat. Vince Staples
  • 06. Good As Gone
  • 07. Show Me The Way feat. Aloe Blacc
  • 08. Figure It Out (Melvins Theme)
  • 09. Let Your Thoughts Fly Away
  • 10. Century Of The Self feat. Catero
  • 11. @mrevidence Interlude
  • 12. The Reversal
  • 13. Opinions May Vary feat. Gangrene
  • 14. Trouble
  • 15. L.A. River Drive feat. Sick Jacken
  • 16. The Bigger Picture feat. Krondon