Danish-band Efterklang have won the first ever IMPALA European Independent Album of the Year Award for their recently released album, Magic Chairs, beating 20 other shortlisted albums in the process. Upon receiving the award, Rasmus Stolberg, from the band said: “We are honoured and happy to receive this award! Thank you! Just last week Owen Pallett gave us an award for Band With Best Skin, which was nice, but winning the European Independent Album of the Year beats it by far - wow. We want to congratulate Impala on turning 10 and we would like to thank Roger Trust, 4AD, Sony/ATV Music Publishing Scandinavia, A:larm Music, Playground Music and all the other fine people and companies we work with and all the incredible musicians who play in our live band and also on Magic Chairs.” Magic Chairs, which was released in February 2010, is the band’s third full-length album. You can read our review of the album here