The AIM Independent Music Awards has opened its entries for this year's event. The nominations are open to members and non-members of AIM and will be announced by John Kennedy (XFM) at the Gibson Guitar Studio on August 6th.

Nomination categories are:

  • Best Live Act
  • Independent Breakthrough of the Year (sponsored by 7Digital)
  • Hardest Working Band or Artist
  • Best Small Label
  • Special Catalogue Release of the Year
  • Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (sponsored by UK Music)
  • Independent Video of the Year
  • Indie Champion Award
  • Best 'Difficult' Second Album (sponsored by Xfm)
  • Independent Track of the Year
  • PPL Award for Most Played New Artist
  • Independent Album of the Year
  • Independent Label of the Year (sponsored by Coutts)
  • Pioneer Award (sponsored by The Orchard)
  • Outstanding Contribution to Music (sponsored by eMusic)

Head on over to the official site for more details.