Fanfarlo Announce New Single ‘Fire Escape’ 12 July
Hot off the back-end of SxSw, 405 favourites Fanfarlo announce a totally sweet new single. As if the song wasn't good enough in itself, the new Fire Escape single will include TV On The Radio, Toro Y Moi, Horrors remixes. Can't wait to hear the Toro Y Moi one, because i've always thought Fanfarlo needed a chillwave refix...always. Taken from their ridiculously good debut album Reservoir (it won the [un]coveted 405 Album Of The Year award!) and released through Atlantic Records on Monday July 12th 2010 – ‘Fire Escape’ will feature radical reworkings by Dave Sitek (TV On The Radio), Tom Furse (The Horrors), Toro Y Moi and The Time & Space Machine (Richard Norris), as well as a new single mix from Tom Elmhirst (Amy Winehouse, Jonsi). The single will be accompanied by a pretty cool video, directed by Jamie Thraves (Radiohead, Coldplay), which has, in case you feel confused after watching it below, two different endings, one ‘happy’, the other ‘unhappy’, although, concerning with suicide, cults and human vulnerability, both could be seen as thoughtful ruminations on staring into the abyss.
Meanwhile, the band are set to confirm of a very special tiny London show around the release of ‘Fire Escape’ and their biggest UK headline tour to date in the autumn within the next few days. Other UK shows are as follows: JUNE 25th Pilton Glastonbury Festival (Queen’s Head stage) JULY 1st London Serpentine Sessions (w Laura Marling) SEPT 16 London Campfire Trails at Troxy (w. Wild Beasts) What else have they been up to? Throughout the summer Fanfarlo can also be seen appearing at festivals in Japan, Australia, Germany, Switzerland, Austria, France, Belgium, Holland, Spain, Italy, Iceland and across America. Elsewhere the band recently made a series of engaging short–films with experimental US film-maker Brain Gonzalez. A cut above your average on-the-road doc, a snippet of the conceptual films based around their appearances at this year’s SxSW Festival will be shortly made available to view via their site. Finally, an exclusive, brand new song, ‘Atlas’, recorded with Mike McCarthy (Trail of Dead, Spoon), appears on the forthcoming Twilight movie and OST, which is released on June 7th. Ah well...nobody is perfect.