It's not the best day to be Björk or a part of her team. She announced her eighth studio album Vulnicura just six days ago with a cute handwritten note, and announced some New York City gigs straight after. However, it seems that the anticipation for the record was too much and some scumbag internet sleuths unearthed the record from its dwellings and leaked it two months in advance.

To combat the leak, she's surprised everyone by releasing it on iTunes worldwide today. While the CD and vinyl versions will still be out in March, you can (and should) download Vulnicura right now. The nine-track album has six songs produced by Arca, and The Haxan Cloak provided production/mixing on the rest. The album is her first since 2011's Biophilia.

You can check out her newly announced intimate New York City gigs below. Tickets go on sale this Friday, 23 January, at 11AM Eastern Time.

  • Tour Dates:
  • March 7 New York, New York Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage at Carnegie Hall
  • March 14 New York, New York Stern Auditorium / Perelman Stage at Carnegie Hall
  • March 25 New York, New York City Center
  • March 28 New York, New York City Center
  • April 1 New York, New York City Center
  • April 4 New York, New York City Center
  • June 5-7 New York, New York Governors Ball

Here's what Björk had to say about the album on Facebook:

i am so grateful you are still interested in my work !!

i appreciate every little bit !!!

i wanted to tell you the tale of making of this album

i guess i found in my lap one year into writing it a complete heartbreak album . kinda surprised how thoroughly i had documented this in pretty much accurate emotional chronology …. like 3 songs before a break up and three after . so the anthropologist in me sneaked in and i decided to share them as such . first i was worried it would be too self indulgent but then i felt it might make it even more universal . and hopefully the songs could be a help , a crutch to others and prove how biological this process is : the wound and the healing of the wound . psychologically and physically . it has a stubborn clock attached to it .

there is a way out

and then a magic thing happened to me : as i lost one thing something else entered . alejandro contacted me late summer 2013 and was interested in working with me . it was perfect timing . to make beats to the songs would have taken me 3 years ( like on vespertine ) but this enchanted arca would visit me repeatedly and only few months later we had a whole album !!! it is one of the most enjoyable collaboration i have had !

i then went ahead and wrote string and choir arrangements and recorded them in iceland

towards the end of the album i started looking around for a mixing engineer and was introduced by a mutual friend of ours , robin carolan to the haxan cloak . he mixed the album and also made a beat for one half of “family” . together with chris elms the engineer we kinda formed a band during the mixing process and this is the album we made !!!

i do hope you enjoy it

i would like to thank this overqualified little team ( where roles often blurred )

. i also would like to thank robin , his generous approvals gave me more courage to complete this as is .

and my group of songswapping / dj friends : the right tune can truly cure : ta for those sonic ointments

but most of all i would like to thank my team : james merry , derek birkett and emma birkett . rosemary and elisa . this album could not have been done without you