Fucked Up recently announced the release of their new album Dose Your Dreams, coming out through Merge on October 5th. Lead single 'Raise Your Voice Joyce' gave us an inkling of the ambition of the new record, and today's release of 'Normal People', along with its video, furthers that massively.

'Normal People' begins as a lighthearted affair with J. Falco taking the lead vocal initially, giving it a new-wave narrative. Even as Damian Abraham comes in with his trademark growl, the song remains upbeat, like an 80s pop-rock radio classic, as he unwinds a soliloquay about being a small figure in the giant machine that is life. The song cruises along with injections of saxophone, synthesizer and even seagull chirps towards its conclusion.

It pairs beautifully with the colourful and quotidian video. Check it out below.

After the release of Dose Your Dreams in October, you're going to want to see Fucked Up live; handily they've announced a European tour for January:

Jan 19 Dublin, IE – Grand Social
Jan 20 Manchester, UK – Ruby Lounge
Jan 21 Newcastle, UK – Think Tank
Jan 22 Glasgow, UK – King Tuts
Jan 23 Leeds, UK – Belgrave
Jan 24 Brighton, UK – Patterns
Jan 25 London, UK – The Garage
Jan 26 Antwerp, BE – Zappa
Jan 27 Amsterdam, NL – Melkweg
Jan 28 Cologne, DE – MTC
Jan 29 Berlin, DE – Cassiopeia
Jan 30 Hamburg, DE – Molotow