It was just announced today that electronic artist Gold Panda has signed to City Slang in anticipation for his forthcoming third album Good Luck And Do Your Best. While the project is set for release on May 27, he's offered a new single and the video to accompany it in the meantime. 'Time Eater' was created by Isreali visual artist and long-time collaborator, Ronni Shendar, who recorded the footage in NYC, Berlin, Cologne Hong Kong and Las Vegas.

Gold Panda, most comfortably known as Derwin Panda, set out to Japan with photographer Laura Lewis, to collect both audio field recordings from his trip across the country as well as accompanying visuals. The idea was to be able to put together something other than a traditional record and that became the catalyst for the new album.

"I went over twice. Once in April, once in October, and they're the best times to visit, because the weather is calm - it's not too hot or too cold," Derwin says. "The album was recorded at home in Chelmsford, but I had that visual inspiration or documentation from Japan. So it was a look back. If you go in those months, Japan has this light that we don't get here. It's hard to explain. You know how LA has this dusk feeling? - that orange light that makes the place glow, and the neon signs? Well, Japan has this… at certain times of the year, it has this filter on stuff. So when we went the first time, there were a lot of pink and green colours. Mainly the buildings and cars and the people, and I think Laura captured those colours really well.

Good Luck and Do Your Best is to be released on May 27th via City Slang. Find the full tracklist below.

  • Good Luck And Do Your Best tracklist:
  • 1. Metal Bird
  • 2. In My Car
  • 3. Chiba Nights
  • 4. Pink And Green
  • 5. Song For A Dead Friend
  • 6. I Am Real Punk
  • 7. Autumn Fall
  • 8. Halyards
  • 9. Time Eater
  • 10. Unthank
  • 11. Your Good Times Are Just Beginning