While Hot Chip remain on hiatus after their 2015 album Why Make Sense, it seems their members are taking the opportunity to flex their muscles in different ways. Last year saw the release of Joe Goddard's Electric Lines, and today Domino has announced that Alexis Taylor will be putting out a new solo album called Beautiful Thing on April 20th.

As ever with any release by Hot Chip or one of its members, the focus is not to be "cool" or "trendy," but to be honest, open and true to themselves - no matter what that sounds like. That's exactly what Taylor has aimed for on Beautiful Thing, now with many years of writing, producing, and performing experience under his belt, he has created an album that fully expresses the range of his love for the world.

For the first time on a solo album he has brought in an external producer in the form of Tim Goldsworthy, legendary co-founder of DFA Records and UNKLE. Together they have created something "subtle and elusive but ultimately quite profound and beautifully human."

About the creation process, Alexis says “Whilst primarily made on my own with Tim, other guest musicians include Neil Hagerty, Susumu Mukai, and Emma Smith, and Joe Goddard from Hot Chip produced one track too. I am very excited for everyone to get to hear the LP in April. Roll on blank tapes, internet-based streaming, jam-on-cd-spreading, vinyl fetishising, and of course the great un-boxing.”

The first song to be shared from Beautiful Thing is its title track, listen below, accompanied by a video directed by Edwin Burdis.

Beautiful Thing can pre-ordered from here ahead of its April 20th release on Domino.