The Swedish duo I Break Horses has just detailed their upcoming sophomore album Chiaroscuro ("light-dark" in Italian), that should be out on January via Bella Union.

"My only aim when starting to write this album was to ignore any possible second album expectations." explains Maria Lindén. "I let myself write both the happiest songs but also the saddest, and then I put them together."

Chiaroscuro follows their much acclaimed 2011 debut Hearts, and the duo will be performing a series of shows to promote it. They play London's Village Underground on January 23rd (supporting Sigur Rós) as their first post-release date gig.

Check the album's tracklisting below.

  • 1. You Burn
  • 2. Faith
  • 3. Ascension
  • 4. Denial
  • 5. Berceuse
  • 6. Medicine Brush
  • 7. Disclosure
  • 8. Weigh True Words
  • 9. Heart To Know