Lauded musical iconoclast John Cale is still as prevalent as ever, even into his early 70s, creating more and more art for his cavernous career collection. The newest is M:FANS, a unique rework of his 1982 album Music For A New Society, arriving January 22nd via Double Six/Domino.

As well, Cale will be re-releasing a remastered version of his aforementioned 1982 album, complete with three previously unreleased tracks tracing back to the album's original recording. On M:FANS, Cale elaborated on his lengthy process, saying; "Making any form of art is always personal to my mind. During the making of M:FANS, I found myself loathing each and every character written about in those original recording sessions of Music For ... Unearthing those tapes reopened those wounds. It was time to decimate the despair from 1981 and breathe new energy, re-write the story. Then, the unthinkable happened. What had informed so much over lost and twisted relationships in 1981 had now come full circle. Losing Lou [too painful to understand] forced me to upend the entire recording process and begin again ... a different perspective - a new sense of urgency to tell a story from a completely opposite point of view - what was once sorrow, was now a form of rage. A fertile ground for exorcism of things gone wrong and the realization they are unchangeable. From sadness came the strength of fire!"

Both albums will be distributed as a double-CD, 12" vinyl, and digitally. Pre-orders can be made via Domino Mart and on iTunes.

Check out the tracklist for both albums and the new video for 'Close Watch', director by Abby Portner and featuring Dirty Projectors' member Amber Coffman, below.

M:FANS tracklist

  • 01. Prelude
  • 02. If You Were Still Around
  • 03. Taking Your Life In Your Hands
  • 04. Thoughtless Kind
  • 05. Sanctus (Sanities Mix)
  • 06. Broken Bird
  • 07. Chinese Envoy
  • 08. Changes Made
  • 09. Library Of Force (feat. Man In The Book excerpt)
  • 10. Close Watch
  • 11. If You Were Still Around (Choir Reprise)
  • 12. Back To The End

Music For A New Society (Re-Mastered) tracklist

  • 01. Taking Your Life In Your Hands
  • 02. Thoughtless Kind
  • 03. Sanctus (Sanities)
  • 04. If You Were Still Around
  • 05. Close Watch
  • 06. Broken Bird
  • 07. Chinese Envoy
  • 08. Changes Made
  • 09. Damn Life
  • 10. Risé, Sam And Rimsky Korsakov
  • 11. Library Of Force (Unreleased)
  • 12. Chinese Envoy (Outtakes)
  • 13. Thoughtless kind (Outtakes)