John Grant has announced his new solo album will be out this fall. Grey Tickles, Black Pressure was recorded in Dallas with producer John Congleton (St. Vincent, Franz Ferdinand, Swans), and is due out on October 2nd via Bella Union.

"I do think the album's great, and I'm really proud of it," Grant says in a press release. "I wanted to get moodier and angrier on this record, but I probably had a lot more fun making it." Featuring the likes of Tracey Thorne, Amanda Palmer and Banshees' drummer Budgie, Grant's third solo effort arrives two years after the highly praised Pale Green Ghosts and is now available for pre-order.

The tracklisting is as follows:

  • 1. 'Intro'
  • 2. 'Grey Tickles, Black Pressure'
  • 3. 'Snug Slacks'
  • 4. 'Guess How I Know'
  • 5. 'You & Him'
  • 6. 'Down Here'
  • 7. 'Voodoo Doll'
  • 8. 'Global Warming'
  • 9. 'Magma Arrives'
  • 10. 'Black Blizzard'
  • 11. 'Disappointing'
  • 12. 'No More Tangles'
  • 13. 'Geraldine'
  • 14. 'Outro'

He's also announced a string of EU/UK dates for November/December which include a show at London's Hammersmith Apollo on November 12th:

  • Thursday 5 November - REYKJAVIK - Eldborg Harpa
  • Friday 6 November - REYKJAVIK - Eldborg Harpa
  • Monday 9 November - DUBLIN - Vicar Street
  • Tuesday 10 November - DUBLIN - Vicar Street
  • Thursday 12 November - LONDON - Hammersmith Apollo
  • Friday 13 November - BRIGHTON - Dome
  • Sunday 15 November - PARIS - La Cigale
  • Thursday 17 November - BRUSSELS - Botanique
  • Wednesday 18 November - AMSTERDAM - Melkweg
  • Friday 20 November - LUXEMBOURG - Den Atelier
  • Saturday 21 November - ZURICH - Kaufleuten
  • Sunday 22 November - MILAN - Fabrique
  • Tuesday 24 November - COLOGNE - Buergerhaus Stollwerck
  • Wednesday 25 November - HAMBURG - Uebel & Gefahrlich
  • Thursday 26 November - BERLIN - Postbahnof
  • Saturday 28 November - AARHUS - Voxhall
  • Sunday 29 November - COPENHAGEN - Store Vega
  • Tuesday 1 December - GOTHENBURG - Pustervik
  • Wednesday 2 December - STOCKHOLM - Sodra Teatern
  • Friday 4 December - OSLO - Cosmopolite
  • Saturday 5 December - BERGEN - Logen
  • Sunday 6 December - STAVANGER - Zetlitz