You may know John Parish as the man who produced PJ Harvey's Let England Shake in 2011; you may not know him at all; or you may have unknowingly seen some of the films he scored (among which are Nowhere Man and the Oscar-shortlisted Sister). In whichever case - or even if none of this applies to you - we reckon that his latest venture is intriguing enough that you'll want to check it out when it's released on April 15th. Screenplay is the name of his newest album, and it collects 19 pieces from the films he's scored over the last 15 years.

We have an exclusive promo clip for the album, one which in itself is a very interesting listen. It makes for interesting viewing as well, as it features clips from some of the films Parish scored. The pieces featured are album opener 'Katharina', 'L'Enfant D'En Haut' and 'Girl Wurli', which you can investigate below:

Screenplays is released via Thrill Jockey a week from Monday, and the full tracklisting looks like this:

  • 1. 'Katharina'
  • 2. 'The Girls Rehearse'
  • 3. 'Katja Gives Birth'
  • 4. 'The Minotaur Pt 2'
  • 5. 'River'
  • 6. 'Katja's Death'
  • 7. 'LBS - End Titles'
  • 8. 'L'Enfant D'en Haut'
  • 9. 'Dernière Montée'
  • 10. 'Girl Wurli'
  • 11. 'Les Billets'
  • 12. 'The Island'
  • 13. 'Sara and Tomas'
  • 14. 'The Spring Ritual'
  • 15. 'Longfellow'
  • 16. 'Longfellow Forlorn'
  • 17. 'Plein Sud'
  • 18. 'A Glass of Wine'
  • 19. 'Sam'