English folk troubadour Johnny Flynn has been relatively quiet since the release of 2010's Been Listening, so we're thrilled to announce the release of his next album, Country Mile. Produced with his Sussex Wit partner Adam Beach, the album is comprised of a series of first drafts recorded over the past two years. Flynn says of the album: "Normally I have loads of notebooks, but this just kind of happened."

If first single 'The Lady Is Risen' is any indication, Country Mile will still bear the beauty and old-world charm of Flynn's previous works. Watch a lyric video for the single below, and pre-order the LP here. It's due September 30th via Flynn's long-time friends, Transgressive Records.

The multi-talented performer has also announced a fall tour with his band the Sussex Wit:

  • Mon 29th July – Manchester Deaf Institute **sold out** (Johnny Flynn solo show)
  • Tues 30th July – Bristol Colston 2 **sold out** (Johnny Flynn solo show)
  • Sun 18th August – Green Man Festival (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Mon 16th September – New Orleans LA Mardi Gras World (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit, w/ Mumford & Sons)
  • Tues 17th September – Woodlands TX Cynthia Woods Pavilion (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit, w/ Mumford & Sons)
  • Weds 18th September – Dallas TX GEXA Energy Pavilion (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit, w/ Mumford & Sons)
  • Fri 20th September – Bonner Springs KS Cricket Wireless Amphitheatre (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit, w/ Mumford & Sons)
  • Fri 27th September – Hamburg Reeperbahn Festival (Johnny Flynn solo show)
  • Sat 28th September – Berlin Independent Night (Johnny Flynn solo show)
  • Sat 5th October – Edinburgh Pleasance Theatre (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Sun 6th October – Glasgow Oran Mor (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Mon 7th October – Manchester Club Academy (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Tues 8th October – Birmingham Institute Library (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Thurs 10th October – London Hackney Empire (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Fri 11th October – Oxford Academy 2 (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Sat 12th October – Brighton St Georges Church (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Mon 14th October – Bristol Anson Rooms (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Tues 15th October – Leeds The Wardrobe (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Weds 16th October – Dublin Whelans (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Thurs 17th October – Belfast Limelight (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Fri 15th November – Paris, France La Fleche D'or (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Sat 16th November – Brussels, Belgium Botanique/Rotonde (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Mon 18th November – Amsterdam, Holland Bitterzoet (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Tue 19th November – Cologne, Germany Blue Shell (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Wed 20th November – Munich, Germany Atomic Caf (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)
  • Fri 22nd November – Zurich, Switzerland Kaufleuten Zurich, Festsaal (Johnny Flynn & The Sussex Wit)