Johnny Marr only released his debut solo album The Messenger last year, but he's already back with a new one Playland which drops on 6 October via Warner Bros.

A press release states that he began working on the album right after finishing up The Messenger. He said “When The Messenger came out I kept on writing,” adding “I liked that the band had a momentum going on tour and a connection with the audience, and I thought that energy would be good to capture on the new record.” It was recorded earlier this spring in London with collaborator Doviak.

His inspiration was taken from the 1938 book Homo Ludens that explores the development of cultures and from the city of London itself. “It’s important to sound like your environment and on this record that’s London and Manchester,” he continued. "The feeling of the cities and the people make it into the music.” You can pre-order the album now.

  • Tracklist:
  • 01. Back In The Box
  • 02. Easy Money
  • 03. Dynamo
  • 04. Candidate
  • 05. 25 Hours
  • 06. The Trap
  • 07. Playland
  • 08. Speak Out Reach Out
  • 09. Boys Get Straight
  • 10. This Tension
  • 11. Little King