18 months after the release of their debut EP, The North Farm Sessions, Jonny Kearney and Lucy Farrell are set to finally release their debut album Kite on October 10th.

Speaking about the meaning behind the album title Jonny Kearney said “Kite was just a word in one of the songs (from 'I Write This Note') but it came to be a metaphor for the feeling of turbulence and lack of control that runs through most of the songs. Some of us find the lack of control we have over our brief moment on earth to be distressing and depressing, but another way to see it is, this moment may be brief but can still be one of outstanding beauty. Kite is a sort of attempt at taming or harnessing that overwhelming feeling of being surrounded by chaos, and trying make out of it something beautiful.”

Although not set for release until October 10th, Kite will be available exclusively from the fold-duo's live album tour which starts on September 22nd.

    UK Tour Dates

  • 22 - Bury, The Met
  • 23 - London, Bishopsgate Institute (w/ Martin Simpson and Alasdair Roberts)
  • 24 - Cambridge, The Junction
  • 25 - Bristol, The Folk House
  • 26 - Colchester, Arts Centre
  • 28 - London, The Union Chapel Bar
  • 29 - Reading, South Street Arts Centre
  • 30 - Dilwyn, Hereford, The Cedar Hall
  • October
  • 01 - Edinburgh, Pleasance Bar
  • 02 - Newcastle, Live Theatre
  • 07 - Guildford, Folk Club
  • 08 - Sheffield, Lantern Theatre
  • 09 - Hebden Bridge, Trades Club
  • 10 - Stockton, Folk Club