Julio Bashmore has been releasing just singles for what seems like an age now: there's 'Rhythm of Auld' and 'Simple Love', both with J'Danna, 'Kong', and now this new one, 'Holding On', featuring Chicago singer/songwriter Sam Dew. But don't worry, there's an end goal in sight – they're all taken from his just-announced debut album, Knockin' Boots.

'Holding On' is a soul-flavoured, future-funk-infused series of rich, textured samples with a sparkly, '70s-leaning feel set to a shuffling house beat skittering with urgent hi-hat in the funky house tradition – all of it jounces onward courtesy of a groovesomely oscillating bassline and electronic piano chords painting nocturnal-sombre jazz. Sam Dew's vocals seem to ooze into the illustrious samples of the track, all of it becoming a timeless piece of music that is as early '00s as it is ten years older than that, and even ten years older (or more) still, and that takes some doing.

The album Knockin' Boots is out 10th July (so expect a few more singles yet) via Bashmore's own label Boardwalk Records. You can pre-order it on iTunes here. Tracklist below.

  • Knockin' Boots tracklist:
  • 1. Knockin' Boots
  • 2. Holding On (ft. Sam Dew)
  • 3. She Aint (ft. Julie Mendoza)
  • 4. Let Me Be Your Weakness (ft. Bixby)
  • 5. Rhythm Of Auld (ft. J’Danna)
  • 6. For Your Love (ft. Seven David Jr)
  • 7. What’s Mine Is Mine
  • 8. Bark
  • 9. Umuntu (ft. Okmalumkoolkat)
  • 10. Simple Love (ft. J’Danna)
  • 11. Kong (ft. Bixby)
  • 12. You & Me