Following 2013's apocalyptic and explosive Ceremony is, without much discretion, an immense order for Swedish artist Anna Von Hausswolff. However, with first listen to her brand new effort 'Come Wander With Me/Deliverance', that task may not be so improbable.

The immensity of the 10-minute behemoth is as inspiring as it is overwhelming, careening and evolving with an intense array of depth of complexity; from the roaring echoed vocal spaces to the prog-like combative compositions. The song itself is actually a cover from Jeff Alexander and Anthony Wilson, but with Hausswolff's fingerprints all over the presentation.

"‘Come Wander with Me’ was presented to me by a friend and it became one of my favorite songs," Hausswolff explains. "I decided to make a cover of it. The lyrics and the feeling of the song seduced me into this mystical yet romantic landscape. It deals with the idealization of a world that you yearn to know, and the fear and frustration that one might never be able to fully exploit that place due to physical and emotional limitations. It’s about longing and dreaming, while facing the reality of obligations and doubt.”

“Every time we played it, it grew bigger and bigger and another song started to take shape. That song became 'Deliverance.'"

Listen to 'Come Wander With Me/Deliverance' below. Hausswolff's new album The Miraculous arrives Friday, November 13th via City Slang in Europe (outside of Scandinavia) and Other Music in North America.

Check out the tracklist below:

  • 1. Discovery
  • 2. The Hope Only of Empty Men
  • 3. Pomperipossa
  • 4. Come Wander With Me / Deliverance
  • 5. En ensam vandrare
  • 6. An Oath
  • 7. Evocation
  • 8. The Miraculous
  • 9. Stranger

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.