Over the last few months, northwest London-based quartet Bare Traps have been gearing up for the release of their debut EP. So far, we've heard the catchy-as-hell lead single 'Every Time' and 'Inside', and they're kicking off the week with the release of the EP's third track 'Be Here Forever'.

Their influences range from Prince to Bloc Party and Robert Miles, and 'Be Here Forever' seems to be a culmination of all of those and then some - it's as if The 1975 went a bit math rock and poked a bit more fun at themselves. It's a slower and more experimental track than their previous two, showing a greater depth to the band while still maintaining a bit of the pop sheen we first fell in love with on 'Every Time'. Their EP, which was self-produced and mastered by John Davis (Bloc Party, Led Zeppelin, Arctic Monkeys), will be available online for free when they drop its last track in the coming months. Guitarist Luke O'Gorman gave us some insight to the track in an email, which you can read below:

I was listening to a lot of 90's trance music around the time I wrote Be Here Forever - especially Robert Miles - those big Ibiza anthems, and I think you can hear that influence a lot in the guitar parts: hypnotic in parts, euphoric in others. I guess it just gets downright psychedelic towards the end. I think we have a deeper love for dance music than the average guitar band, so the idea of Be Here Forever was to channel that sheer hedonism into the vibe of a guitar song. Ultimately we were aiming to create something we'd like to get off our nuts to on a night out. Hopefully others will feel the same way.

  • Tracklist:
  • 1. Every Time
  • 2. Inside
  • 3. Be Here Forever
  • 4. The Best of This

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.