Lyla Foy has shared with us a new track from a new EP called UMi. The title of the upcoming release is an abbreviation of Ursa Minor, meaning 'little bear' in Latin, which is a constellation; it "reflects nighttime," according to a press release, and contrasts directly with Foy's 2014 album, Mirrors the Sky.

The new track is called 'Beginning It All Again' and it's a calm yet swirling pool of gleaming sounds, like pinprick stars set to a sparse, steady beat: the ticking of a clock as plaintive introspection effuses from gentle guitars and Foy's fluttering vocal.

UMi is out 2nd October. Check out a tracklist below, as well as some tour dates in October.

  • UMi tracklist:
  • 1. Beginning It All Again
  • 2. Glow In The Dark
  • 3. River
  • 4. Right To Be
  • 5. Tiger
  • 6. He Is Lost

  • Lyla Foy live dates:
  • Thurs 1st October – London Courtyard Theatre
  • Fri 2nd October – Seattle Barboza
  • Sat 3rd October – Portland Bunk Bar
  • Sun 4th October – Vancouver The Cobalt
  • Tues 6th October – San Francisco Rickshaw Shop
  • Wed 7th October – Santa Cruz The Crepe Palace
  • Sun 11th October – Los Angeles Bootleg Theatre
  • Mon 12th October – San Diego Casbah
  • 13th-17th October – New York CMJ Festival