"I opened up every can of worms I could," claimed Damien Rice in a recent interview with the Independent. "I got to the place where I would peel back one layer, and then another layer, and the stuff that would come up underneath was so inspiring, it made me want to write about it. And it's still going - I can't wait to get back in the studio."

His long hiatus from the music industry (his most recent album was released back in 2006) - seemed to stem from an unbalance in his life: "I felt like I had crashed and burned mentally." However, as the original quote suggests, My Favourite Faded Fantasy is the singer arriving in his "happy place".

Thanks to the fine folks over at NPR, you can find out if his return was worth the wait. My Favourite Faded Fantasy is released on November 10th.

  • Tracklisting:
  • 1. Camarillas
  • 2. Colour Me In
  • 3. I Don't Want To Change You
  • 4. It Takes A Lot To Know A Man
  • 5. Long Long Way
  • 6. Mustard Seeds
  • 7. My Favourite Faded Fantasy
  • 8. The Box
  • 9. The Greatest Bastard
  • 10. Trusty and True

Head here for his latest tour dates.