Mavis Staples is gearing up to release her forthcoming album Livin' on a High Note this Friday. The project enlists a number of modern musicians to support the Staple Singers legend throughout her later-years resurgence on the twelve tracks.

Listen to latest single 'Dedicated,' a song co-written by album producer M. Ward and Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon. "Mavis Staples is a true national treasure," Vernon said in a statement. "The Staple Singers’ catalogue is one of the most important in my life history. I'm beyond humbled to hear her sing on a song I had a hand in writing."

Livin’ on a High Note is out February 19. A new documentary, simply titled Mavis!, is set to air on HBO on February 29.

  • Livin’ on a High Note Tracklist:
  • 01. Take Us Back (Benjamin Booker)
  • 02. Love and Trust (Ben Harper)
  • 03. If It’s a Light (The Head and the Heart)
  • 04. Action (tUnE-yArds)
  • 05. High Note (Valerie June)
  • 06. Don’t Cry (M. Ward)
  • 07. Tomorrow (Aloe Blacc/John Batiste)
  • 08. Dedicated (Justin Vernon/M.Ward)
  • 09. History Now (Neko Case)
  • 10. One Love (Son Little)
  • 11. Jesus Lay Down Beside Me (Nick Cave)
  • 12. MLK Song (M. Ward / Martin Luther King)