Celebrity cat Lil BUB will be releasing her debut album Science & Magic next Friday 4th December. How? How does a cat make music, other than via a cat organ? I suppose we must suspend our disbelief and accept the fact-fiction that Lil BUB, a cat, has created some music. You can listen 'New Gravity', to the first single to be taken from the forthcoming album, below; it's actually a really cute morsel of music: a shuffling beat, synth bass that speaks of determination and courage, and melody lines of flashing bleepery that summon the excitement of 8-bit adventures of yesteryear. Charming, in a word.

"Friend and fan" Andrew W.K. has said of the upcoming release in a statement:

"First of all, it should be understood that this album is a genuine musical experience. Also, it should be understood that this is not a novelty item or a cheap and disillusioning gimmick. This is a bonafide and musically gratifying concept album, which entirely emerged from the soul and spirit of Lil BUB herself. How do I know this? Because BUB told me so."

He concluded: "BUB is more than just a 'muse'; she wrote this music and used the musicians on this album (BUB's dude, Mike, and his close friend Matt, who is also the official bubbysitter), as her creative vessels to get the music from inside of her spirit and into your mind. If it weren't for BUB, this music would not exist."

There will be an opportunity to meet the feline entity herself next week, ahead of the album's release on 4th December via Joyful Noise; see the tweet at the end of this post. The tracklist for the album is also below.

  • Science & Magic tracklist:
  • 1. Hello Earth
  • 2. New Gravity
  • 3. Assimilation
  • 4. A Friend
  • 5. GOOD JOB
  • 6. Another Voyage
  • 7. Science and Magic
  • 8. Space Sister
  • 9. Earth Sister
  • 10. Rebirth