Despite reports that Jason Pierce (Spiritualized) only took part in The Space Project due to his financial standing - which turned out to be a joke - Lefse Records' Record Store Day compilation has been greeted with a lot of love in the lead-up to its release.

If you're a space geek (like us) and have a solid taste in music (you should do if you're on this site, right?) then this compilation is worth checking out.

You can listen to the album below courtesy of NPR. The album is released on April 19th (Record Store Day).

  • Tracklisting:
  • Jupiter:
  • A Porcelain Raft: 'Giove'
  • B The Antlers: 'Jupiter'

  • Miranda:
  • A Mutual Benefit: 'Terraform'
  • B Anna Meredith: 'Miranda'

  • Neptune:
  • A The Spiritualized Mississippi Space Program: 'Always Together With You (The Bridge Song)'
  • B The Holydrug Couple: 'Amphitrites Lost'

  • Uranus:
  • A Youth Lagoon: 'Worms'
  • B Blues Control: 'Blues Danube'

  • Saturn:
  • A Beach House: 'Saturn Song'
  • B Zomes: 'Moonlet'

  • Earth:
  • A Absolutely Free: 'EARTH I'
  • B Jesu: 'Song of Earth'

  • Io:
  • A Benoit & Sergio: 'Long Neglected Words'
  • B Larry Gus: 'Sphere of Io (For Georg Cantor)'

Head here to submit your own review of this album.