Ryan Hemsworth is teaming up with Seattle-based producer Lucas for his next release, a collaborative EP called Taking Flight. The pair have shared the first track to be taken from the project, a track called 'Angel', arriving (of course) on Hemsworth's own not-a-label platform, Secret Songs. It's a journey of emotive chords, nuanced beats with trap-flavoured hi-hats, vocal snippets (with some courtesy of the Sapporo-based Qrion) plenty of chimings, plaintive synth blippings and crackled VGM-esque glitches, the delicious sounds and soft understated atmosphere taking centre stage here over any maximalist filling of space.

Recently, Hemsworth remixed Skylar Spence track 'Can't You See'.

Check out our interview with Ryan Hemsworth.

  • Taking Flight EP tracklist:
  • 1. Angel
  • 2. Long Time
  • 3. From Grace
  • 4. White Light
  • 5. Cherished
  • 6. U Remain