"It felt good to be rebelling against the typical view of what an artist is today, a curator," says Ruban Nielson of Unknown Mortal Orchestra's new album Multi-Love. "It's more about being someone who makes things happen in concrete ways. Building old synthesizers and bringing them back to life, creating sounds that aren't quite like anyone else's. I think that's much more subversive."

Intrigued? Listen to the album below courtesy of NPR. Multi-Love is released on May 25th via Jagjaguwar.

  • Multi-Love tracklist:
  • 01. Multi-Love
  • 02. Like Acid Rain
  • 03. Ur Life One Night
  • 04. Can’t Keep Checking My Phone
  • 05. Extreme Wealth and Casual Cruelty
  • 06. The World Is Crowded
  • 07. Stage or Screen
  • 08. Necessary Evil
  • 09. Puzzles