While we're all focusing on what has been great in the world of music this year, The BBC look to predict what we’ll be fawning over in 2013 by announcing the long list for their annual BBC Sound of... accolade.

Looking to follow in the footsteps of 50 Cent, Jessie J, Ellie Goulding and Adele by claiming the prestigious award vary from a multitude of genres, The Weeknd whose Trilogy album released last month compiled the singers three critically acclaimed self released mix tapes and London duo AlunaGeorge whose electro-pop You Know You Like It EP received universal praise from all corners surely have to be early favourites to scoop the prize.

Quality and quantity can be found throughout the whole list with bands like Parma Violets, Chvches, HAIM (pictured above) and Savages all gathering momentum over the past twelve months, while solo acts are also in abundance with Tom Odell, A*M*E, King Krule, Laura Mvula and Arlissa, a south Londoner who has already made an impact stateside by featuring on a track with Nas this year. Speaking of rappers, the Native American lyricist Angel Haze completes the impressive list, alongside Irish bands Kodaline, Little Green Cars and Birmingham's Peace.

Speaking on the announcement George Ergatoudis the head of music for both BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra said, "The unveiling of the BBC's annual Sound Of…. list is one of the highlights of the musical calendar and this year more key tastemakers agreed to take part than ever before, sealing its reputation as the definitive guide to next year's most exciting artists. Of course not all of them will achieve success, but all are worth checking out. Let the discussion and debate begin."

The fifteen acts will be whittled down to a final five which will start to be revealed on New Years Eve with an act being announced each day until the ultimate winner will be revealed by Huw Stephens on Friday 4th January.

    The Sound of 2013 longlist in full:

  • AlunaGeorge
  • A*M*E
  • Angel Haze
  • Arlissa
  • Chvrches
  • HAIM
  • King Krule
  • Kodaline
  • Laura Mvula
  • Little Green Cars
  • Palma Violets
  • Peace
  • Savages
  • The Weeknd
  • Tom Odell