Back in the late '60s, Serge Gainsbourg was commissioned to write the full soundtrack to André Cayatte's film Les Chemins de Katmandou (The Pleasure Pit in English), which starred his then companion Jane Birkin and himself. However, and since he had a lot on his plate at the moment (both film, soundtrack, and music-wise), it's only fair to assume that, in spite of him apparently duly delivering the score, some sort of setbacks emerged and it was never released -- Jean-Claude Vannier's Excerpts From Les Chemins de Katmandou ended up coming out as the official-ish soundtrack album in its place.

The album was then assumed to be lost, but the original tapes have recently been discovered and will be released as the full soundtrack by Finders Keepers on October 20th. We're talking 40 years later, people, This is some crazy shit.

Check out the tracklist below; you can order your copy here.

  • 1. 'Les chemins De Katmandou (titles)'
  • 2. 'The Pleasure Pit'
  • 3. 'Colin-Maillard'
  • 4. 'Le Roi Des Phlébotomes'
  • 5. 'Flower Child'
  • 6. 'Cache Cache'
  • 7. 'Opium Den'
  • 8. 'Overdose'
  • 9. 'Oliver'
  • 10. 'Fallen Rainbow'
  • 11. 'Colin-Maillard (vox)'
  • 12. 'Les Chemins De Katmandou'