The ever-prolific Mac DeMarco has announced his next album: it's called Here Comes The Cowboy and will be out on May 10th through his own handily named label Mac's Record Label. It was recorded at his own Jizz Jazz Studios in LA. As suggested by the title, the record is cowboy-themed, as he explains:

“This one is my cowboy record. Cowboy is a term of endearment to me, I use it often when referring to people in my life. Where I grew up there are many people that sincerely wear cowboy hats and do cowboy activities. These aren’t the people I’m referring to.”

Lead single 'Nobody' doesn't explicitly delve into these cowboy themes - in fact he starts the song by singing "I'm a preacher," and the figure in the video is not your typical cowboy - although he has the hat. Continuing along the lines of the more humble sound of previous record This Old Dog, 'Nobody' is a delicate song with Mac on simple acoustic guitar accompanied by a high and lonesome synth line. It further pushes the idea that we're now into the more mature Mac DeMarco phase, and he's wearing that guise very well here.

The video for 'Nobody' was directed by Mac himself, and you can watch it below.

You can pre-order Here Comes The Cowboy here ahead of its May 10th release. He's also announced a string of summer European shows, including a few in the UK:

Wed. June 26 - Glasgow, UK @ Kelvingrove Bandstand
Thu. June 27 - Halifax, UK @ Halifax Piece Hall
Sat. June 29 - Margate, UK @ Dreamland (Mac DeMarco… Will See You Now)
Sun. June 30 - Werchter, BE @ Rock Werchter
Tue. July 2 - Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Wed. July 3 - Oslo, NO @ Sentrum Scene
Thu. July 4 - Stockholm, SE @ Munchen Brewery
Sat. July 6 - Herouville-Saint-Clair, FR @ Festival Beauregard
Mon. July 8 - Milan, IT@ Magnolia
Fri. July 12 - Trencin, SK @ Pohoda Festival
Sun. July 14 - Dublin, IE @ Iveagh Gardens