On July 7th 2014 the Manic Street Preachers will release Futurology, a brand new album. The record is the Welsh band's eleventh, and will come out just ten month after their last; 2013's Rewind The Film. The Manics cite a list of European influences and experiences as the album's inspiration, and chose to record it at Berlin's legendary Hansa Studios (of Low, The Idiot, and Achtung Baby fame). Of these inspirations the band's Nicky Wire says:

"During our last European tour we really reconnected with this idea of travelling on the Autobahns listening to records by Kraftwerk, Neu!, Andy Weatherall, Popul Vuh and Cabaret Voltaire. The idea of being on these endless futuristic roads but being surrounded by these ancient forests at the same time. It's a magical feeling and it makes you think of soundtracks in your head as you're travelling through this landscape."

This new full length will also feature a wide range of guest appearences from the likes of Scritti Politti's Green Gartside, German film star Nina Hoss, Georgia Ruth, Cate Le Bon, H. Hawkline, and Super Furry Animals' Cian Ciarán.

See the album's full track listing below, and stream the video for its first single, 'Walk Me To The Bridge' below.

  • Track Listing:
  • Futurology
  • Walk Me To The Bridge
  • Let's Go To War
  • The Next Jet To Leave Moscow
  • Europa Geht Durch Mich
  • Divine Youth
  • Sex, Power Love and Money
  • Dreaming A City (Hughesovka)
  • Black Square
  • Between The Clock And The Bed
  • Misguided Missile
  • The View From Stow Hill
  • Mayakovsky

See Also: A collection of the best contemporary covers
See Also: Listen to Brian Eno & Karl Hyde's collaborative album, Someday World