One year ago today we lost the great Philip Seymour Hoffman, and on the anniversary of his death, Matthew E. White has shared a new song dedicated to him. 'Tranquility' is a gorgeous song backed by a beautifully arranged strings section and although it's quiet, it washes over you like a wave with its haunting melodies and atmospheric sound.

'Tranquility' follows the release of 'Rock & Roll is Cold', both of which are songs from his forthcoming Domino Records release Fresh Blood. It's out on 9 March. Read what White had to say about the genius of Hoffman below, via his Soundcloud:

"A year ago today we lost Phillip Seymour Hoffman. I didn’t know Phillip, but I had watched everything he did for 15 years. To me, he was everything one could ever want to be in an artist, and although I am no actor I was much more of a student than a fan. Very soon after his death it became crystal clear to me that I wanted to try very hard and write a song for him. He deserved something from me, something that honored him, and showed how grateful I was for all he had given. His death was immensely sad and as deaths such as these go, leaves us crushed that a life so bright has been dimmed. There is a duality in these circumstances, it’s a place where we find darkness in the light, but more powerfully, we find light in the darkness. I tried to find music that felt the same. It’s my best shot, and it’s called Tranquility.

To a man that showed me, over and over, what excellence and craft is, here is a song for you."

Listen below.

  • Tracklist:
  • 1. ‘Take Care My Baby’
  • 2. ‘Rock & Roll Is Cold’
  • 3. ‘Fruit Trees’
  • 4. ‘Holy Moly’
  • 5. ‘Circle ‘Round The Sun’
  • 6. ‘Feeling Good Is Good Enough’
  • 7. ‘Tranquility’
  • 8. ‘Golden Robes’
  • 9. ‘Vision’
  • 10. ‘Love Is Deep'

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.