Danny Seim of Menomena, Bryan Devendorf from The National, and horn player Dave Nelson have teamed up to form the new band Pfarmers. They'll be releasing their debut album Gunnera through Jurassic Pop on 12 May, and you can listen to its first cut 'The Ol' River Gang' below. Seim said he had some pretty otherworldly influences for the album in a press release:

"The record is about a dream I had where I’m reluctantly accepting a fear of drowning by focusing on being reincarnated as a giant Gunnera plant, which thrive on the banks of rivers (specifically the Jordan River i.e. the Biblical promised land) after I paint myself gold and sink to the bottom like the El Dorado of South American folklore."

The vinyl release will be limited to 250, and if you're lucky enough to snag one of the ultra limited collector's edition copies, you'll be getting something pretty special. It comes with handmade seed bomb sculptures created by artist Edward Cabral, said to resemble the El Dorado art, and they're filled with Gunnera seeds. All of those details and more can be found on Jurassic Pop's website.

  • Tracklist:
  • 01 Benthos
  • 02 You Shall Know the Spirit
  • 03 Work for Me
  • 04 El Dorado
  • 05 The Ol' River Gang
  • 06 How to Build a Tube
  • 07 Promised Land

Wanna hear more music like this? Check out 405 Radio, or our New Music section.