Months after introducing 'P's & Q's' and 'Alchemy', Alabama-via-Chicago rapper Mick Jenkins has finally announced the official release date of Wave[s] - the anticipated follow-up to last year's breakout mixtape The Water[s]. Along with the official date, August 21st, Jenkins has also debuted the thunderous 'Get Up Get Down'.

The two-part track, produced by Stefan Ponce and ThemPeople, starts with an invigorating anthem-style production, eventually shifting to a murky, self-confessional heavy hitter. It's a microcosm of Jenkins' wonderful versatility, showcasing the immense promise originally heard once The Water[s] really started to emerge.

Wave[s] will feature familiar Mick Jenkins collaborators Sean Deaux, Saba, and The Mind and will be released by Cinematic Music Group of Jenkins' imprint Free Nation. He also commissioned Kansas City artist Hayveyah McGowan to create individualised 30x30 paintings for each track, including 'Get Up Get Down'.

Listen to 'Get Up Get Down' below.

Wave[s] Tracklist

  • 1. Alchemy Prod. Lee Bannon & ThemPeople
  • 2. Slumber feat. Saba & Sean Deaux Prod by Thempeople
  • 3. Get up Prod By Stefan Ponce & Thempeople
  • 4. Your Love Prod By Kaytranada
  • 5. Piano Prod by Thempeople
  • 6. The Giver Prod by Thempeople
  • 7. 40 Below Prod by Thempeople
  • 8. P's & Q's Prod By Kaytranada
  • 9. Perception feat. The Mind Prod. By Mulatto & ThemPeople