After releasing their highly acclaimed Circles LP back in 2012, Yamada and Johnson, aka Moon Duo, decided to add a drummer for their 2013 tour. The band were so overwhelmed by the dynamic shift, they decided to ask engineer Mattia Coletti to document the Italian leg of the tour - the result of which is now out on August 18th via Sacred Bones. Live In Ravenna is a six-track live album that documents the energy of Moon Duo as a three-piece, and is being released both as a limited, one-time vinyl pressing of 2,000 and in digital formats.

"Ravenna was memorable for a number of reasons, the most prominent being the really very intense heat, and the setting — Hanabi has an outdoor stage on the beach, the Adriatic Sea only meters away," says Yamada. "The show that night, and the recording of it, sort of encapsulates everything that was happening at the time – the heat wave, the journey, and the shift in the energy and composition of the band."

The band will be heading out on an extensive tour this autumn. You can check out at the following dates:

  • Mon. Sep.1 - Hebden Bridge, UK @ Trades Club
  • Tue. Sep. 2 – Sheffield, UK @ The Harley
  • Wed. Sep. 3 – Aberdeen, UK @ The Tunnel
  • Thu. Sep. 4 – Edinburgh, UK @ The Caves
  • Fri. Sep. 5 – Vlieland, NL @ Into The Great Wide Open Festival
  • Sun. Sep. 7 – Moscow, RU @ Teatr
  • Wed. Sep. 10 – Thessaloniki, GR @ Eightball Club
  • Thu. Sep. 11 – Athens, GR @ An Club
  • Sat. Sep. 13 – Valada, PO @ Reverence Festival
  • Mon. Sep. 15 – Tilburg, NL @ Incubate Festival
  • Thu. Sep. 18 - Cardiff UK @ Club Ifor Bach
  • Fri. Sep. 19 - London UK @ Queen Elizabeth Hall
  • Sun. Sep. 21 - Brussels, BL @ AB with Goat