Pacific Northwest singer-songwriter and producer Phil Elverum has gotten real serious and personal as Mount Eerie on his new work.

His latest album A Crow Looked At Me is set for delivery on March 24 and deals with some heavy subjects that he not only covers in lead single 'Real Death' but in the statement below.

"Why share this much? Why open up like this? Why tell you, stranger, about these personal moments, the devastation and the hanging love? Our little family bubble was so sacred for so long. We carefully held it behind a curtain of privacy when we’d go out and do our art and music selves, too special to share, especially in our hyper-shared imbalanced times. Then we had a baby and this barrier felt even more important. (I still don’t want to tell you our daughter’s name.) In May 2015 they told us Geneviève had a surprise bad cancer, advanced pancreatic, and the ground opened up. ‘What matters now?’ we thought. Then on July 9th 2016 she died at home and I belonged to nobody anymore. My internal moments felt like public property. The idea that I could have a self or personal preferences or songs eroded down into an absurd old idea leftover from a more self-indulgent time before I was a hospital-driver, a caregiver, a child-raiser, a griever. I am open now, and these songs poured out quickly in the fall, watching the days grey over and watching the neighbors across the alley tear down and rebuild their house. I make these songs and put them out into the world just to multiply my voice saying that I love her. I want it known."

Check out the track below, along with the tracklist for A Crow Looked At Me.

  • A Crow Looked At Me Tracklist:
  • 01. Real Death
  • 02. Seaweed
  • 03. Ravens
  • 04. Forest Fire
  • 05. Swims
  • 06. My Chasm
  • 07. When I Take Out The Garbage At Night
  • 08. Emptiness pt. 2
  • 09. Toothbrush/Trash
  • 10. Soria Moria
  • 11. Crow